Nestled between the two most populous countries in the world, India and China, Bhutan is a small kingdom in the Himalayas that has attracted the attention of the world in recent times.

With an area of 38,398 square km., Bhutan is comparable to Switzerland both in its size and topography. The country can be roughly divided into three geographic zones: the southern foothills and plains, the inner Himalayas, and the great Himalayas. The climate of Bhutan varies with altitude. The southern foothills falls in the tropical zone with a hot, humid climate, while the great Himalayas are high mountains covered with snow almost all year round. The central region (the inner Himalayas), which is home to broad valleys and forested hillsides, has a temperate climate with moderate rainfall.

Because of the variation in altitude and climate, Bhutan boasts of an all-encompassing geographical landscape/feature that consist of complex network of swift rivers, gorges and valleys; magnificent snow-peaked mountains and serene lakes; and tropical jungles and foothills. Bhutan is also home to several exotic species of flora and fauna.

                                                       FAST FACTS                      



 Districts (Dzongkhag)



 38,394 sq. km



Elevation Range

 300m (985ft) to 7000m (23,000ft)

Time Zone

 6 hours + GMT


 Dzongkha (Official)


 75% Buddist, 23% Hindu, 2% Others



Country Dailing Code